New to OPM

Hello, My name is Mona. I am looking for some guidance. I am 26 years old, and have a B.S. and M.S. in clinical nutrition and dietetics from the University of Pittsburgh. I am currently a registered dietitian working with dialysis patients across 4 dialysis clinics (2 urban, 2 suburban --very diverse patient backgrounds). I have about 1 year experience working in the renal world. I love working with this patient population and would like to pursue medicine and become a nephrologist so that I can better provide care, however I have considered other specialties such as gastroenterology/cardiolo gy/endocrinology. I also worked as an RD in long-term care for a year. During the school year, I teach nutrition to nursing students at a private 4-yr university. I have a very strong extracurricular record including volunteer research experience in both nutrition and neuroscience (published co-author); multiple leadership roles at the local, state and national level for the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (formerly American Dietetic Association); and internships in quality assurance for a local grocery chain, the International Food Information Council in D.C., and my supervised practice experiences leading to registration as a dietitian.