New to this topic - MCAT When?

When should one take MCAT exam to apply for med schools in June?

How many months should one study before taking the test?

Should MCAT prep start while taking premed pre-reqs or should one spend 2-3 months after pre-reqs are over?

Please advise.

I’ve read and known so many varying stories to those questions and the short answer is: it depends. Everyone’s situation is different. My physics lab partner from last semester studied for only a few weeks and scored a 31. Other people study for several months and get varying scores. I don’t believe there is one correct answer to any of those questions.

I can speak, however, for my own situation. I plan on taking the MCAT in April or May for a June application. I started studying over the summer in June with EK books and continue to do so whenever I find free time. I do not plan on taking a course (like Kaplan or TPR).

I am currently taking O-Chem I, Cell Bio, and Physiology. Next semester I plan to take O-Chem II, so I’ll take the MCAT before I completely finish O-Chem but after I’ve already taken all the other courses.

My logic is that the more time I spend reviewing the material, working problems, and becoming familiar with everything MCAT, the better chance I have. Experience matters to me.

In the end, I think you have to evaluate your own situation and do what’s best for you.

I like being prepared as well, thanks for sharing.

I agree that taking it in April or May for a June application is a good idea. Also, do not neglect to sign up ASAP once that date is open to sign up for…or you may find yourself taking it later than you wanted to!