NP considering Med School

I have a few questions; i’m hoping maybe there is another RN or NP who may have had a similar situation who can comment.

I did a Pre-Med Biology degree graduated 2003 3.028/4.00. Several courses are not counted in my GPA b/c I did study abroad in Germany, Physics, Genetics, Animal Physiology.

I also got C’s in all my Chemistry courses. I do believe some of this had to do with getting adjusted to University and this is reflected with my Junior/senior years with my grades improving and all A’s and few B’s. (1 C in Photography… just not talented :o)

My 2nd Degree is accelerated BSN my transcripts say 2.7/4.0 GPA but not sure how that is correct because I had mostly As and only 2 B-. No C’s.

Anyhow.

My 3rd degree MS for Nurse Practitioner: 3.852/4.0

I realize my grades are not the best considering my C’s in undergrad. But my grades have overall improved.

I have taken the MCAT once and did poorly because I did not study at all.

I think if I actually study and/or take a review course I could do fairly well.

Do schools consider life experience and work in the health care industry to offset grades at all? Esp if I can get an okay MCAT score?

I know all schools look at things differently, but for example Texas schools do not accept foreign credit for the required courses. So I would probably have to take Physics again, and I have never taken BioChem.

I am basically wondering if I take the MCAT and perhaps take 1-2 classes such as Physics and Biochem and get As if I could apply with what i got. Or would I really need to take ALL my pre-reqs again and get better grades?

Also any online schools that are recommended? Currently I do traveling work/locum tenens.

I feel like once you get past the first 2 years of Med school, it is mostly hospital/clinic work and then residency. Being a Nurse Practitioner I feel I would do well in this respect.