Nurse Practitioner going for med school

Hello. I have a unique combination of circumstances-I am a 40yr old Nurse Practioner, who plans to finally pursue my dream of becoming a MD. I was a Biology major in undergrad so I took all the pre-reqs. However they are 10yrs old. Help! Do I really need to take some over?

Does anyone know of other NPs who have gone on to med school?

1 Like

Yes. Me I’m a 53 year old first year medical student who was an NP.

Take biology again. Really. Even in 10 years there has been a lot of change.

If you have some idea of medical schools you are interested in, you could check with those specific schools about your specific prerequisites. Some schools want your prereqes to be no more than 5 years old.

Also, you have to take the MCAT’s on the material in basic bio, chem, organic chem and physics. Retaking some of all of these prereqs will ensure that they are very fresh in your mind. It will give you the opportunity to get letters of recommendation from science faculty for your application, which you will need. And it will ensure that when you are in medical school you will be better prepared for some of the content (I’m in biochemistry right now, and I am VERY thankful for excellent chemistry and organic chemistry in my postbac program).

Those are my thoughts, anyway

Kate

Hello fellow Nurse Practitioner! I’m in the same boat as you. Good luck on your journey!

Hi,

I am also a nurse practitioner contemplating going to med school in the future. I’m presently taking Organic Chem I and I took Gen Chem 1 and 2 last year. I also have very old prereqs (I’m 45 years old) and will likely take Physics next year and possibly repeat General Biology in the future. Many med schools also recommend courses in Genetics and Biochem as well, so I might take those courses in the future as well.

As you can see, you are not alone…

Welcome and good luck on your journey!