On the fence - FUD - Help!

Hello everyone,

I’m new to this forum. I’m 37 years old, divorced and have a ten year old daughter. I have been in a serious relationship for the last 8 years with someone who just began a fellowship… Please forgive my long post, but I feel like I’m stressing myself out with this decision.

When I was an undergrad, many, many years ago, I took a major detour and went through a very rough period. I was busy working out issues from a strict upbringing. In short, I was a bad student and destroyed my transcript. Fortunately, during the last year of undergrad, I pulled myself up and graduated. Shortly thereafter, I began working at a pharmaceutical company. After a few years of working, however, I wasn’t satisfied. I realized I did myself a huge disservice. I had this burning desire to go into medicine and help people, despite my abysmal track record. So, around the time my daughter was one, I began doing an unofficial post-bac while working. The hole that I had dug myself was very deep, so I undertook one of the world’s longest post-bacs completing 120-quarter units. However, I discovered that I loved being a student and regained my confidence in the sciences. I performed well, with the exception of one quarter when I was going through a nasty divorce.