Opening practice/establishing ins contracts

I am trying to find out if a physician (MD) can obtain insurnace contract agreements/credentialing if he is on a probationary status. If so, are there any limitations because of his probationary status?

His license is active, he is currently practicing with a group, and he can bill for his services. He wants to open his own practice but wants to know what his options are. He is not board certified yet but is board eligible. Or, where can I find out this information?

Can anyone suggest where to begin the process of establishing insurance agreements? What are the best resources out there?

Is it worth hiring a practice management compnay to handle this and the set up?

Responses to any of these questions would be helpful. Thanks!

For heavens sake before talking to a practice management group and shelling out big bucks, I suggest talking to an independent medical malpractice insurance agent.

When I was a nurse-midwife I had wonderful service from a company at this website: http://www.cisinsurance.com/ thru Israel Tietelbaum (I see he is now the president). Could call, ask to speak with him, describe what I was wanting coverage for, and he could find me a company that covered that (not always easy as a nurse-midwife). Of course his physician’s practice is bigger. Found him or (occasionally) another agent in the office more than willing to talk on the phone and answer questions regarding what kind of coverage was available, necessary, or feasible. I suggest starting there.

Kate