Opinions on my chances of getting into Med School?

Hi All,

I have really enjoyed reading posts and have learned a great deal from this website. I was hoping for some opinions as to my fitness in applying to med schools this summer for the entering class of 2012. Any words of wisdom or feedback would be very appreciated.

I graduated with a BS in Radiologic Science in 2005. My GPA was only a 3.2 : ( I have since worked on an online MBA from my alma mater (brick and mortar state university) and will complete that before matriculation to med school (Grad GPA about a 3.7). I have also taken my pre req courses as well as some additional Bio courses to bolster my GPA and sort of prove I am a good student now. I have maintained a 4.0 GPA throughout all of these pre-med courses. Most of the courses have been taken in a traditional classroom setting at good state universities, with the exception of Org Chem 1 and 2 with labs taken online through the University of New England.

I also have several years of clinical experience as a Sonographer and some experience as a Radiographer. I am volunteering now at a homeless shelter medical clinic once a week and a Planned Parenthood twice a week. I also have years of volunteer experience with military groups as my husband is in the military. I am also going to be shadowing radiology residents for several days at the hospital where I work part-time. Additionally, I will be involved in clinical research very soon with the end goal of the research study being published upon completion.

I am going to take a Kaplan MCAT course that runs Feb- May 2011 and plan to take the MCAT in May or possibly April if I feel ready.

Do my experiences and pre-med coursework/ extra-curriculars seem competitive enough?

I worry somewhat about the online Org Chem coursework. Has anyone encountered a problem with completing a pre-req or two online?

Thanks for reading and please feel free to offer honest opinions and feedback.

• Hawaii_Liz Said: