Passing out?

All right.

So here’s an interesting question:

I was a paramedic a while back. Since then I’ve been in another unrelated field.

But when I was a paramedic, I never had a problem with blood or cadavers or surgeries or whatever.

But, recently, since I’ve been considering med school, I’ve passed out/almost passed out in two situations.

The first was, no joke, in the movie theater for 127 Hours when he amputates his arm. The second was in a cadaver lab for a potential med school.

I cannot, for the life of me, understand what has changed, and why it’s affecting me so much now when it never affected me before.

It’s incredibly frustrating that this apparent vasovagal response seems to be completely out of my control…

Any ideas? Is there a way to overcome this? If so, how? Or am I screwed?

It’s kind of weird. I’ve watched a bunch of surgeries through the windows of the ORs. The first time I was invited actually in the room, it was a whole different deal. I didn’t pass out, but I did actually feel lightheaded for a moment.

I can’t offer any thoughts on the movie, but I think that maybe in the actual presence of surgery, or a cadaver, you’re not just getting the visual, but the olfactory as well. Anyone can tell you that is a very powerful sense for bringing up things in your mind. Maybe that has something to do with it.

I know when I was first invited in, the OR nurse even told me to be careful, as it is apparently really common when actually in the room, vs watching it on a monitor.

All I know, is I do NOT want to be the one that goes down that first day in med school…

• PhillyPhil Said:
All right.

So here's an interesting question:

I was a paramedic a while back. Since then I've been in another unrelated field.

But when I was a paramedic, I never had a problem with blood or cadavers or surgeries or whatever.

But, recently, since I've been considering med school, I've passed out/almost passed out in two situations.