Please help a nontrad give himself the best chance for an acceptance

Good morning Oldpremeds. I am a long time lurker here on the forum and have learned a great deal from many people here. I am a 29 year old Post-Bacc student who originally graduated in 2005 as a communication studies major and then went back to school last January to complete a postbacc at a well respected state school. Before last year the only science class I had ever taken was Astronomy. I decided to go back to school after taking care of my 93 year old father who has progressive dementia and is paralyzed do to numerous strokes. With the support of my now fiance I was able to leave my job as a district manager of a fortune 200 company to solely focus on attaining my dream of going to medical school. I played division 2 football during my college years and academics was not a priority to me. I graduated with a meager 2.66 gpa so I knew that I would have a tough road ahead of me. In the last 17 months I have completed 49 credit hours of science classes and attained a 3.88 post bacc gpa. I am currently taking Biochemistry which will end in 3 weeks after which I am applying to medical school. I am waiting to apply because after this class I will finally have my cgpa over 3.0. I took the MCAT on May 31st and am keeping my fingers crossed. I averaged just over a 31 through a large sample of practice tests (TBR 1-7, AAMC 3-11). In the last 17 months I have also acquired over 200 clinical volunteering hours at a top ranked hospital as well as 70 hours doing clinical research. My stats when applying will be cgpa 3.01, sgpa 3.83, postbacc gpa 3.88(52 credits) Finances are an issue for the application process and I have a few questions. How competitive will I be for allopathic schools if I get an MCAT score of 30-33. I will be applying to both MD and DO schools. The second question I have is that if I get under a 30 on the MCAT (28 or 29) would it be worthwhile retaking at the end of July even though I wo