Post Bac vs. 2nd undergrad

Hello I’m new to this site, and I was wondering if anyone could offer advise, or knows someone I could talk to.

I graduated with a BFA cum laude in 2001 and served in the US Peace Corps 2002-2004 as a health ed volunteer. While there, I decided that I want to be a doctor. Having said that, I graduated 10 years ago. In the mean time, I’ve taken calculus and physics. I also volunteer at a local Hospital which I would do regardless.

Since a BFA doesn’t require any science credits, I’m at a loss without a Post-Bac program or going back and getting a BS. I did apply to a Post-Bac program at Goucher. (no word yet)While I’m hopeful, I also want to look at a back-up plan/alternative paths to a MD/MPH.

I feel like since my undergrad is a BFA (non ivy) they won’t take me seriously. My big question is: Would getting a BS be the best path? I’m interested in Epidemiology/Infectious Diseases, and even a MPH in those fields requires the sciences. I talked to an admissions person at UMD a few years back and she told me that I needed a formal post-bac.

Any advise would be great. Thank you!!!

Hello and welcome. While formal post-bacc programs are designed for people who do not have previous exposure to the pre-medical sciences, they aren’t necessary. The class line-up is really simple and you have to take the same classes wherever you go. So, if it’s more cost-effective to go to a solid state school, you can do what’s called a DIY (Do It Yourself) post-bacc where you just enroll for the classes you need.

In your case, it looks like you’ll need 1 year of General Biology, 1 year of General Chemistry, and 1 year of Organic Chemistry. That covers the pre-med requirements (along with your Physics and Calculus). Oh, and they all need to be taken with labs, so hopefully you did that with Physics already.