Post Bacc Programs

Hello everyone! I am pretty new to the OPM forum, and I wanted to get some feedback about Academic Ehncancement Post Bacc Programs since I am having some set backs and need some advice.

I graduated with a 2.68, MCAT score of 20, and I have been unsuccessful in gaining acceptance into a post bacc program. Every one I have found states that they want a 3.0 or 2.75. When I’ve contacted them about if volunteer/work experience would compensate, they stated that they are very strict about the GPA requirement and would only be less strict if I had a 3.0 in my last two years. Well, for me, that’s when my grades slipped for a number of reasons. I was most recently denied into one with a 2.70 GPA requirement. (and I’ll be applying to Tulane in a few months, but even though theirs is a 2.5, they state that most of their students average accepted GPA is a 3.4)

My undergrad advisors are thinking that the best thing to do would be to get another Bachelor’s degree (even though I just graduated with a BS in Biology two years ago) if I can’t get in to a Post Bacc program. They say these programs are designed for students with a 3.0 or above, but from what I’ve read from some of you OPM members, that doesn’t seem to necessarily be the case. I would much rather prove myself as a competitive applicant in an MS program rather than starting over (although I will if it is my only option).

Where did some of you guys do post Bac work, and do you know of any more schools that would accept a GPA such as mine? I have just been unfruitfull on AAMCs website of approved Post Bacc programs.