Premed with Young Children?

I am at the beginning stages of researching the process of applying to med school as a non-trad student and recently stumbled on this website. What a terrific resource! While I have many concerns about the application process and student experience (more of which I will undoubtedly share at some point), the most pressing of my concerns - and the one that could very well be a dealbreaker in terms of going full-steam ahead with pursuing my dream at this point in time - has to do with the effect of a med school and post-med school schedule on my ability to spend time with my young children, who would be ages 3 and 5 by the time I would be able to begin med school.

By way of background, I am an attorney and had a demanding, Ivy League law school education so I’m not afraid of - even relish - hard work and long hours. However, I have gone part-time since having children because spending unhurried, uninterrupted chunks of time with them (not to mention my husband!) is a priority for me. And my concern is that the schedule of a med student/resident would simply be incompatible with spending any kind of quality time with my family.

So my questions are: If I am accepted into med school, what kind of hours should I expect in terms of attending classes and studying (both weekdays and weekends)? Are the hours somewhat predictable? Does the schedule get better or worse in the internship/residency years that follow med school?

I would prefer to start med school sooner rather than later given my age (currently 33, wouldn’t be able to start med school until age 36 at the earliest), but if I’ll already be “old” by the earliest date I’d be able to graduate, I’m wondering if it wouldn’t make sense to delay med school an additional few years - at least until both of my children are in grade school and I feel more comfortable leaving them for longer periods of time with caregivers.