Quitting the phd to TRY med school?

First let me say what a wonderful website this is.

I have always been interested in a medical career. I completed my bachelors degree and went on to complete my MSW. I worked in a community health setting while I was a practicing social worker. I am now almost done with my PhD in social welfare and am again reconsidering a career in medicine. I enjoy my research but something is lacking. I feel like I can do so much more as a primary care provider along with my education as a social worker. I don’t know how else to say it other than - it feels wrong that I didn’t even try to become a doctor. Medicine feels right (please ignore the tired cliche).

Now my question. Am I insane? I am on the verge of finishing my PhD and headed toward a productive academic career AND I am not satisfied.

Is there anyone out there that is or has been in my shoes? I feel like even if I try I won’t regret leaving my academic career behind. There is something special about academia that pulls you in and makes you feel uncertain about what otherwise might be a “normal” decision. Over thinking is a way of life I suppose.

Well i will quit ranting and see what feedback is offered.

• msw_ennis Said:
First let me say what a wonderful website this is.

I have always been interested in a medical career. I completed my bachelors degree and went on to complete my MSW. I worked in a community health setting while I was a practicing social worker. I am now almost done with my PhD in social welfare and am again reconsidering a career in medicine. I enjoy my research but something is lacking. I feel like I can do so much more as a primary care provider along with my education as a social worker. I don't know how else to say it other than - it feels wrong that I didn't even try to become a doctor. Medicine feels right (please ignore the tired cliche).