Shadowing a must?

So I have been working around docs for twenty five years. The past 4 as I have suspected that I would be trying this pre med path I have worked hard to develop fuller professional bonds.

The past two years I have worked in an ER in order to be closer yet to clinical medicine. The physicians I work with know that I took my tech job as learning process, not an end game. I watch extra procedures (not the glamorous “trauma” stuff, but the I&D’s, ortho stuff, suturing), ask ten extra questions everyday (that sometimes wears them thin BTW ). I try to learn a new lab value, a new med, a new physiological concept every day from them. LOR’s aren’t going to be a problem. We discuss reimbursement, future of medicine, protocols in addition to technical things.

My question - As I shoe horn all the school work, etc into prepping for application, do I really need to also shadow a physician extensively.

How important will additional volunteering be? I’m considering doing some free clinic time or a mission trip.

Thanks much,

Crepitus

• Crepitus Said:
So I have been working around docs for twenty five years. The past 4 as I have suspected that I would be trying this pre med path I have worked hard to develop fuller professional bonds.

The past two years I have worked in an ER in order to be closer yet to clinical medicine. The physicians I work with know that I took my tech job as learning process, not an end game. I watch extra procedures (not the glamorous "trauma" stuff, but the I&D's, ortho stuff, suturing), ask ten extra questions everyday (that sometimes wears them thin BTW ). I try to learn a new lab value, a new med, a new physiological concept every day from them. LOR's aren't going to be a problem. We discuss reimbursement, future of medicine, protocols in addition to technical things.

My question - As I shoe horn all the school work, etc into prepping for application, do I really need to also shadow a physician extensively.