Should I go for it? So confused…

Howdy all!

I’m new to this forum and hoping to gain some insight and advice. A little about me. I’m 30 and graduated with a bachelor’s degree in education with a minor in math at University of Texas at Austin. My undergraduate gpa is 3.15. I didn’t know what I wanted to do in college so my dad just told me to choose something that had a good job market, so I did, but I had no desire to teach.

After college I worked doing financials and have recently quit my job to go back to school. Now I’m entertaining the idea of becoming a doctor since I think it will be a meaningful and fulfilling profession. I have no medical experience though, and I wonder if it’s even worth trying since it’s so competitive and my credentials are less than ideal. I also have a DUI from 8 years ago…

Any advice or feedback would be most welcome. I’m also entertaining the idea of becoming a medical laboratory scientist. I’m very introverted and prefer to work alone. Should I try to be a doctor or just go the MLT route? Is there a different medical profession that might be suitable for me? I left my job because it was so bureaucratic/political/re d tape and it wasn’t rewarding/fulfilling; it was just a job. I’ve seen a career counselor who labeled me an ISTJ but none of the other jobs were as appealing as the medical field or veterinary medicine. I just feel I’m capable of so much more but my lack of direction has been a problem ever since I left high school. Your thoughts are really appreciated!!!

Best,

confused premednewb

Welcome!

I think you’ll find many similar stories here on this site. What I, and others most likely, will suggest to you is that you spend some time shadowing/volunteering in a health care setting to get an idea if this is the right thing for you. It would be a bad idea to go through several years of post-bacc studies and applications processes before you find out this isn’t something you want to do.