Snowball's Chance in Heck?

I admit I am filled with a lot of doubt.

I am at a crossroads. I am nearly 40 and have just applied to 8 US medical schools over the past month and 1 Caribbean Medical School. I am looking at a few DO schools as well, but being a non-traditional it was an act of congress getting the required letters so to do that again is daunting.

I am not sure what will happen with me. My undergrad years were very turbulent because my father died unexpectedly and the resulting firestorm of events(I had to work one full time job and two part time jobs after his death) left my grades all over the place. I ended up teaching for the past 14 years and then going back to get my M.S in Biology in 2009. I graduated from that program in 2011 with a 3.9 GPA while working full time. I etched out a 30 on the MCAT but not sure how much my graduate GPA will help to cancel out my undergraduate nightmare.

I want to be a family physician and just not sure if I have now wasted almost $1400 on application fees or not.

I believe you can have the AMCAS letter service send your letter packet to the AACOMAS server --so it would be there for DO schools to download. May be wrong but I think that’s correct.

Kate

I will check on that. Thank you Kate!

• LucyTraci Said:
I etched out a 30 on the MCAT but not sure how much my graduate GPA will help to cancel out my undergraduate nightmare.

I want to be a family physician and just not sure if I have now wasted almost $1400 on application fees or not.

You're probably worring too early, people get accepted to med school up until the day classes start.

Unfortunately, grad GPA's never "cancel" out poor undergrad performance. However, in my experience if you went to a top school recently and have outstanding EC's, it shouldn't prevent you from getting admitted somewhere.