Some advice would be appreciated.

Hello All,

I would appreciate any advice you might have… I know you’ve heard that one before. Anyways, here’s my abbreviated story.

I received my undergrad in 2000 with a 2.34 GPA (I know horrible) in Psychology, but have worked in production management for the past 10yrs. Since making the decision to pursue MS I have enrolled at a local CC to take the appropriate pre-requisites and bring up my GPA. I have been attending full time for the past year and currently have a 3.87. After finishing this coming spring I will have approximately 75 new semester units.

How much weight will my undergrad GPA from 10 years ago carry and will my new, basically sGPA from a CC be enough to off set it? I’ve done the numbers and averaging both will most likely put me right under 3.0.

I’m also in the process of volunteering at the VA hospital and I am planning on shadowing some doctors, but I have little research experience from my undergrad.

I’ve been reviewing the MSAR and AACOM, but even with a good MCAT score I’m not sure I can overcome my original GPA. Again any advice is appreciated.

Thanks,

If it’s what you want, just go for it, especially since you are so far down the road with all the extra courses. I suggest reading Old Man Dave’s diary on here, as well as going to the presentations for the 2010 conference (and prior conferences).

Hang in there!

Layne

welcome!!

if you are considering a masters i would recommend a special masters program (such as the one i just finished). they are designed for people who may have had…well some mistakes in their past…and gives them a chance to prove they can handle grad school coursework. they are intense and well worth it but a huge risk. you risk everything for a chance to do what you want.

Welcome. You are among Kindred spirits here.