Speech Pathology to Med Sc

Greetings forum,

This is my first post on the site. I have enjoyed reading the stories and gleaning from the wealth of wisdom and perspective from the members here.

Thank you.

I am here seeking more of that wisdom and perspective.

I am a speech pathology (SLP) student with a great interest in medicine. My main area of interest in SLP is Medical SLP (dysphagia, TBI, CNS, rehab, etc.)

In February of 2012 I will be applying for a PhD program in Communication Sciences and Disorders (CSD).

Currently, I work as a research assistant for a professor at the university I attend. I am in the honors program with my college and am on the Dean’s List for academic achievement.

All of that said to say, I am a shoe-in for the PhD program. This is an opportunity which will take 6 years to complete, but will give me Clinical Certification and the credentials to teach in a professorship, as well as, possibly, hold a research/leadership position in a hospital (currently interested in Mayo, St. Jude’s, and Vanderbilt University Medical).

Anyway, my fiance is a family doctor (she is 1 year out of her residency), and, having spent lots of quality time with her, her doctor friends, and joining her (with HIPAA approval of course) on home visits and such, I have developed a strong interest in medicine.

I am 27 years old. I have already accepted the reality of being in school for 7 more years (final year before the PhD and then the 6 years in that program).

What I want the help of this community with is what everyone thinks about changing courses and pursuing medicine.

Keep in mind that, from the mouths of my professors, I have a guaranteed position in the doctoral program at my school; how wise is it, then, to shelve that certainty and put my focus on a very uncertain chance at getting into a medical school somewhere?

That’s the main concern here, I think.

1. Certainty of PhD and a phenomenal career as a medical speech path and professor.