support from Europe

Hi everyone

I am 25 years old man and I come from Europe. English is not my first language, so I may make some mistakes.

First of all I admire all those people, who despite difficulties decided to apply to med school.

As I said I am 25 years old and for over one and a half year I`ve been thinking about changing my life and going to med school, though I have a degree in law.

I was wondering if out there is anybody who is thinking about going to med school at age over 25.

I have found this forum fortunately.

My sitution is on one hand very similar to stories that are posted on this forum, because I would be a non-trad too. But on another hand my situation is diffrent, beacuse I live in EU country, where, for example, public schools (including med schools) can not charge any tuition (Constitution of my country says that public school are free of charge), but the number of places available is very low.

What I have noticed too is that anybody of you, I mean anybody who would like to apply to med school in USA, can take the neccessary courses (pre-req) at anytime she/he wants, pass MCAT or whatever you need to pass, and have the chance to apply to med school. What is more important people are more open to new situtions and new people who think or do things the way they want. Europe is different, especcialy my country.

I still have not taken the first step to the journey called “med school”, but I am constantly thinking about it. If I would like to study at med school in my country I would have to pass a test called A-level, which I can take ONLY ONE IN A YEAR. Failure would mean that I would have to wait another year to take the A-level.

Correct me if I am wrong but MCAT can be taken 25 times a year.

I am not afraid of learnig Bio, Chem, Phisics and Math at all. I learned a lot at university.