Teacher turned doctor?

To make a long story very short, I spent a year of undergrad being premed. I didn’t work hard enough because I never had to work hard in my other classes. I stopped after my B’s, mistaking a lack of effort (on my part) for a lack of skill. I gave up the dream and focused on my other love: foreign language. Here I am 4 years later. I have a master’s degree in foreign language and I’m in my second year of high school teaching. I like it, but always in the back of my mind I’m thinking about what I gave up, what I was interested in for so long.

I teach in the poorest neighborhood of Washington DC which has the worst school system in the country (really, look it up). I see the horrible health of my impoverished students. I want to help. I hear my students dreaming of a career in medicine and I find myself jealous of 14 year olds. Why can’t I do that, too?

I’m applying to some local Postbacc programs for summer entry and hoping to be accepted. I’m ready for the leap but I have a nagging fear that my previous B’s in science and my years as a Spanish teacher will put me at a disadvantage.

Any other teachers out there? People with strong humanities (literature) backgrounds like me? I’m just trying to connect with similar people going through similar life changes!