Texas Fresh Start

My husband and I decided to move to Texas, just finished unpacking the house. We decided on Texas for a few reasons, most of all (if everything works out) is medical school for me. I have been working on my prereq’s for about 2 years now and have 2 left to go, yay me! I applied to several Texas schools and received a few scholarship offers which helped to seal the deal. My question…my freshman year (21 years ago) was absolutely horrid! My mother had cancer and I was not equipped to deal with being away from home, not being with her and juggling school at the same. That year my gpa was 1.9. My mother passed that next year and I didn’t go back to school until 2011. I applied for the Texas academic freshstart. Does anyone know how ADCOMS look at the freshstart? Do they see your GPA? I know that they look for an upward trend which I certainly have. Fast forward I now have 74 credits with a 3.78 gpa, 3.6 science gpa. I have worked my tail off and will continue to do so with the hopes of taking the MCAT in April of 2014 for 2015 admission (hopefully).

I have read so many incredibly inspirational success stories on this forum which have been invaluable to me. Thank you all for sharing bits of your life and struggles.

So if any of you out there familiar with Texas and the Freshstart Program, I would love some feedback. Thanks!

Texas freshstart helps in texas. Texas med schools have their OWN application service and I don’t know if they see your old grades or not. Applying outside of the state with the AMCAS (MD schools) or AACOMAS (DO schools) application, EVERY grade you ever got will be there…academic forgiveness, freshstart, whatever, does not affect it. They calculate your GPA themselves, pooling all your undergraduate grades, but AACOMAS averages in only the most recent retake of a course if you repeat it.

Kate