TMDSAS Questions

Hello all!

Long time reader, first time poster.

I have a few questions that I would appreciate some feedback on:

1. I submitted my primary application yesterday. How late am I?

I have about 6 years experience working in a homeless shelter with lots of leadership and extracurricular activities while there, as well as a good amount of healthcare related activities. I also tutored and managed at a learning facility for 6 years prior to that. I have had all A’s, and 1 B (~60 hours), since returning to complete Math and Biochemistry degrees (though my GPA including my previous coursework is 2.8). My MCAT score was a 32 (8VR, 10BS, 14PS). I feel like I’m a competitive candidate, but may be a bit late in the cycle.

2. I made an error when submitting my application. While reviewing payment information, I had a momentary lapse and accidentally clicked the confirmation payment button, which also happened to be the submit application button. My application was complete, except for the optional essays. My Personal Statement was missing the last letter and period, and the optional essay 1 included a fragment as essentially a place holder. I contacted TMDSAS to let them know, and they recommended sending in optional essays via emails to schools around the time the application is transmitted to the schools. How detrimental is this to my application?

My apologies for the long post, and thank you in advance for any input.

Welcome!

For your first question - how late are you. TMDSAS opens in May correct?

This is a month earlier than the AMCAS application and the general suggestion is, get your AMCAS application in before August.

Applying early is the easiest thing that students can do to increase their chances of getting into medical school. Yet it is one of the most overlooked.

As far as your essays and typos - each school will view that differently.