took organic chemistry pass/fail 5 years ago (retaking)

I completed my bachelor’s degree in 2006 and majored in bioethics, also completing the requirements for biology. My senior year, I decided that I did not want to pursue a premed track and decided that to complete the final biology requirement - one semester of organic chemistry - I would take it pass/fail.

Five years, later, I remember none of the organic chemistry material and am retaking it (and will later take 2nd semester organic chemistry). My question is - if I apply to an MD program, am I going to be docked for having taken organic chem 5 years ago pass/fail? I do not remember the material from that long ago, and I wasn’t even considering premed then. Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Are you planning on retaking OChem I again before taking OChem II? I think if you retake them both the pass/fail is not going to matter since you will have a more recent grade in OChem I. I don’t know how med school admissions look at Pass/Fail grades. I will say if you are planning to take OChem II and don’t remember anything from OChem I, I would retake OChem I, b/c basically OCHem one is the first half of the textbook and OChem II is the second half of the textbook so there is quite a bit of knowledge base that is built up.

also depends on how you did in your other courses. Are there other P/F courses that you took? In my opinion, a letter grade is always better.

• history Said:
I completed my bachelor's degree in 2006 and majored in bioethics, also completing the requirements for biology. My senior year, I decided that I did not want to pursue a premed track and decided that to complete the final biology requirement - one semester of organic chemistry - I would take it pass/fail.