top school acceptance?

Hello all,

First, congratulations to everyone for having the courage to aspire. Great things often grow from somebody’s “little” dream.

I am just beginning to seriously explore the possibility of becoming a doctor. One nagging question I have is whether there is a good chance of being accepted by an MD program at a top 25% medical school. Are there many (any?!?) success stories out there of older students getting into top 25% schools and and studying for the MD degree? Any stories of students in their 40’s entering Harvard, UCSF, Hopkins?

Why would I care? Well, I’m not sure if I do yet. I went to Stanford for undergrad decades ago and I’m finishing a PhD in economics at MIT. (The PhD was a bad choice. Ouch.) But I’d like to have an idea if my being a 41 year old applicant will simply rule out top schools.

Thanks all,

Bill

Does your pursuing medicine depend upon getting into a “designer” school? I personally plan on applying to several “designer” schools, some “name brand” schools, and your good ol’ “generic” brands. To ensure I make it into ANY school. I, personally, will not be held back by a location or name.

What I want to know is: Do you really want to know? Will “knowing” limit you in any way? That is one fact I prefer to avoid. I don’t want to go in to any interview thinking that a Medical School will not take me due to my age. There is always a first, always an exception. I prefer to go in there feeling like I have as good of chance as any student with a great GPA and MCAT score.

Maybe another good question would be: What are the top 25% of US Medical Schools who DO take Non Traditional Students?

In short, no.

If you read the nontrad acceptance thread on the studentdoctor forum, there are a couple of students who go into JH, Harvard, Brown, Wash U, etc…