Truth or Fiction?

Yesterday, I interviewed at a local state M.D. school. During one of my interviews I ran into a familiar refrain that, at least this time, really got under my skin. The interviewer stated that:

“the old guard at the school does not like to accept nontraditional students because they will not have as much time to practice.” (I.e…because of age)

Naturally, as an attorney, I was shocked by how honest the interviewer was. It was almost as if the person was inviting a court challenge–not that I would bring one. Thankfully, as far as reputation is concerned, the school is behind the moon and I found myself wondering why I was there. Frankly, I reject the notion that older folks cannot be physicians. I replied by stating, among other things, that data suggests older med students trend toward primary care specialties–something that we have a dearth of in my state. (I.e…they are trying to recruit more primary care docs but do not want the people most likely to fill those slots–what morons)

A local physician recently retired at 85. By my count, should I be fortunate to live long enough, that would leave me with 51 years to practice.

What do you think–are these kinds of statements as frustrating for you? Are they truth or fiction?

By Truth or Fiction I did not mean to imply that this did not occur but, simply, whether the statement made by the ADCOM member had some validity from your perspective.

Well, sure, it’s frustrating. But remember that all you need is one acceptance, meaning one committee that thinks you have something to contribute. Once you’re in it doesn’t matter what all these other schools think, and you’ll probably be energized to prove them all wrong.

I got in at 48 and plan to practice for minimum 20 years, and indeed now I’m thinking 25 years. Given that more than a few traditional path docs are burning out after 20-25 years of practice, that puts me within the ballpark.