Volunteer Experience with no way to verify?

Hi, guys! I hope you are enjoying this glorious Friday afternoon!

I am making an assumption here…but when it comes time to list all your volunteer experience on the medical school application, I am assuming that you have to also list a reference name and phone number–similar to a resume–for anyone who wishes to verify the information. (If I’m wrong about that, the rest of this is moot…)

I have some volunteer experience that’s older (as in 10 years old) such as mission trips, habitat for humanity builds, homeless/food bank work, nursing home visitation and music ministry, etc. (so it’s not directly healthcare related) that I would love to list. I was a “stay at home wife” in a previous life, and I had the ability to get involved in a lot of meaningful things because I wasn’t working all the time.

Having said that, it was all group project work, and I don’t live anywhere near the town I did it in any longer, and I couldn’t even begin to tell you some of the people’s names I worked with, much less their current phone numbers, and…you get the picture.

Is this stuff worth mentioning on the application if I may be the only one who can really confirm it?

On the AMCAS application you can list, I think up to 15 or 20 volunteer experiences. I went all the way back to my work as a volunteer firefighter up into my 20’s.

On secondary applications, I generally had to list a contact person for the organization. For a few significant ones that were within the last 7 years, I called and found out a current person who could vouch for my earlier involvement.

Kate

I, too, will face this same situation of finding contact people who will still remember me. Thanks for the advice.