What does family friendly mean?

I was told prior to admission at my school that it was family friendly. Upon recently finding out that I was pregnant the dean of students congratulated me and told me I could drop back a year or continue coming as much as possible and make up missed exams in the week following finals. I was told that it was school policy to wait all the way to the end of the year and take exams the week after finals. Is this really family friendly? That doesnt seem very flexible to me in that I will have to go back and take exams from material that I havent covered in months right after studying for finals.I am looking for anyones thoughts on this? Do you know your schools policy? What happened if/when you had kids during school?

I have a young child and I’m a med student. Policy seems to be really common. My school also calls itself family friendly but I’m not really sure that any medical school is, to be fair. They all have a schedule to follow, exams that need to be done by a certain time, all on a very strict schedule until the end of second year for step 1 and beyond.

Are you due in the middle of the school year? Is this your first? Whether you take a year off is up to you, ultimately. If you are able to make up the exams on their schedule, you don’t have to defer for a year if you don’t want to. I’d suggest also checking out mommd.com . One of the regular posters there had her child during Chrismas break of her second year and started classes again a week later because she didn’t want to defer.

Good luck and congrats!