What else can I do?

Thinking someone can help me or suggest what are some of my options are. Ok here my story; I graduated high school in 2007 with 3.4 GPA and 5th in my class. I attended Xavier University of Louisiana. Unfortunately, I didn’t do very well for the time that I was there. I stayed on probation for a while then I was academically dismissed. My GPA was continually below a 2.0, I left with a GPA of 1.78 in December 2009. Immediately, after being dismissed, I registered at a community college. I started to retake classes that I failed and classes that I needed. My current overall GPA is 2.091. I was told by my advisor that medical school is not an option. I just cried. All I ever known or wanted to be was a doctor. I know I made mistakes and I take full responsibility. But, how can I fix my mistakes and prove that I’m meant for this when I keep getting knock down. She recommended that I take a different route like nursing or healthcare of some type. I am willing to put in the work to get to medical school but every time I think I get a chance to get my bachelor’s degree I get a brick wall. Are there any programs or anything I can do? I can’t give up it is not in my nature to.

First, welcome to the website! It’s great to see another student from New Orleans (I graduated from Dillard).

The undergrad GPA is in the past. What you have to focus on is the current coursework. The are two types of GPA’s for medical school: Overall UG (undergrad) GPA and BCPM (Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Math) GPA.

The GPA situation is further complicated depending on the type of medical education you are trying to obtain: M.D. (Allopathic) or D.O. (Osteopathic)

GPA’s for M.D. programs average grades together. That is, if you earned an “F” in a course from XULA, but earned an “A” in the same course at the community college, than the grade is averaged and you would have a “C.”