When to take MCAT/apply, HELP

I need advice…help please. Background: I am a 28 y/o physical therapist, I had great grades in undergrad and PT school (3.7 and 4.0) and 3 years of experience as a PT. I am taking second semester O chem (my last pre req) and will finish in May, but have not prepared for or taken MCAT. I am working full time and married, no kids. My debate is that I think I need some dedicated MCAT prep time while not in class. I can not quit my job now (student loans and a mortgage to pay). So if I prepare for the MCAT april-july and take it in July or August is it worth applying this year? Should I take a whole year for MCAT prep and apply in 2011? Of course like everyone I am ready to get this show on the road and am leaning towards application this year, but will a poor MCAT score this year hurt me if I need to retake and apply next year? Any insite into my situation will be so appreciated. Again When to take MCAT and when to apply? Help please…

The short answer(s):

Take the MCAT any time up until around the Aug. 15th date. Plan to take it when you are best prepared, as it is something you don’t want take more than once if you don’t have to.

Get your application submitted in June.

Cheers,

Judy

I would highly recommend taking a Kaplan PREP course (or Princeton Review) first. I have heard Kaplan was better but this can be a debated issue (just do a Google search).

I plan (God willing) to take the Kaplan around Feb (3 months at $1899) and then the MCAT in April when I am still taking Physics 2 and Org 2. Depending on the results, I will apply to all Med. Schools in May.

Some people say do not take the MCAT until you have finished all your sciences but I believe that taking the classes in conjunction with Kaplan and will keep me fresh on the material.