Career prior to med school - Just curious

I was just curious what type of career everyone had prior to starting their premed or med school journey.

As for me, I enlisted in the US Navy after high school and worked as an electronics technician. Once I completed my enlistment, I decided to go to college and became a nurse. I have been a Nurse Practitioner for a year and a half while taking some of my pre-reqs for med school.

Being in the Navy or having a prior career won’t hurt you. I spent 5 yrs in the Army and that’s all people wanted to talk about during interviews. However, you will need to be prepared to answer how and why you went from nurse to NP and now physician. Welcome!!

Senior Director of Marketing at a large telecommunications company in Canada

Senior Accountant. Just saying the words brings a bad taste to the mouth.

I was a high school English teacher. Now I am a substitute teacher and P/T adult school counselor.

Oooh, BaileyPup, I have the same feeling! I work for a large hospital company. While I’m not an accountant, I manage a group of accountants. (Never have figured out how that happened.) We work with physicians (recruited by the hospital company I work for) to navigate through all the government regs and make sure that both my hospital company and the recruits are compliant with Stark II laws. So I get to liaison with hospital CEOs, attorneys, physicians, and practice managers all day.

Ah well–I am grateful for the job, and for the exposure to the business side of healthcare. I will be even more grateful to move on from it, though!

I’ve worked as an RN since graduating with my BSN almost 14 years ago. I work ICU and love it, but have become more and more aware of how little I know and how much more I want to know.(I know a LOT and am an “expert” nurse…but my knowledge is very shallow compared with an MD’s.)

Also a Nurse Practitioner.

oldnavygirl,